Path of Exile Players Will Probably Excel at more than Others

110 views 0 replies
Reply to Topic
pathofexilenews

Total Posts: 0

So I've been a player since beta. Tried it out, quit after act 1, came back when Forsaken Masters released and have played every league since then. I love Path of Exile. Anyway, I've been making a tabletop RPG for the last 4 years, and with my love of PoE, I was influenced a bit by my favorite aspects of it, the varied character building and the idea that if your character isn't built well enough, you won't make it to the end-game. So I adopted those parts into my game.

They're not identical, since I wasn't trying to make a tabletop version of PoE (I think Path of Paper already does that admirably), but I have character abilities with trade-offs and synergies that resemble passive notables/Keystones and unique item effects. 

The game is balanced around you needing to gradually optimize your character with these abilities, otherwise it will become impossible to survive combat. I should note that the game is survival-horror, and is intended to be very difficult. The gem system and "sphere grid" was a nice change from standard RPGs and I wish more was done with the bartering system (make it more like Fallout 1 & 2 where you can barter item for item and not just for scroll scraps). This is not a pay to win game but if you want to set up a guild expect to drop $10 - $20 dollars. The only issue I experienced with this game was not from the game itself but from how I accessed it. Using Steam the game was laggy/choppy, using the external client from their website game play was smooth. Still this game is a blast and even more fun with friends. Cannot recommend this enough and also it is FREE.