Without Deng's courage and de

293 views 1 replies
Reply to Topic
DMT

Total Posts: 0

Deng aimed to complete his predecessors' unfinished mission to normalize relations with the US

[i][i]Thanks to Deng's wisdom and persistence Landon Collins Hat , the enforcement of reform and opening-up policy was unaffected by the 1989 Tiananmen Square incident and ensuing negative
international opinion
[/i][/i]

[i][i][i]The calm and confident way in which how Deng dealt with Sino-US relations can be instructive for today's Chinese leaders at a time when Trump's presidency
is causing uncertainty in bilateral ties
[/i][/i][/i]

[i][i]Citizens in Shenzhen, South China's Guangdong Province, visit a portrait of Deng Xiaoping on Sunday, who passed away that day 20 years ago. Photo: CFP
[/i][/i]

[i][i]"When Deng Xiaoping visited the US [in 1979], I was a university student. I read newspaper reports [about the trip] almost word by word, including every
single piece of news in the People's Daily," recalled Qian Jiang, journalist and
author of [i]Deng Xiaoping and The Establishment of Sino-US Diplomatic Relations,[i] in his blog.
[/i][/i][/i][/i]

[i][i]China and the US established diplomatic ties on January 1, 1979, when Deng was serving as China's vice premier and was de facto paramount leader of the
Communist Party of China. He then paid an official visit to the US at the
invitation of US President Jimmy Carter in late January. As the first visit by a
Chinese leader to the US in history, Deng's trip caused a sensation in the US
and around the world.
[/i][/i]

[i][i]"Documentaries recorded that Deng's nine-day trip changed the view of the US government and wider society towards China. While the establishment of bilateral
ties meant the US legally recognized the People's Republic of China, his visit
made it into an emotional recognition. He broke the stereotype that Westerners
had about Chinese with his humor and volubility," said Liu Yawei, director of